Formal procedure guidelines

To which formal procedures am I subject?

In general terms, processing that falls under the article 11-1 of the law n° 1.165 (suspected illegal or unlawful activities comprising biometric data or implemented for surveillance purposes) are subject to an authorisation request from the Commission.
By default or in the absence of other elements, all other processing are subject to the simplified declaration, or the ordinary declaration.
Are subject to a simplified déclaration, all processing compliant to a referenced Ministerial Order. If the processing exceeds the scope of the Ministerial Order or when no Ministerial Order exists then the processing shall be subject to an ordinary declaration.
More specifically, processing relating to research in the domain of health are subject to a legal advisory request. With the exception of all processing in the domain of biomedical research under the terms of the law n° 1.265 of the 23 December 2002 relating to the protection of persons in biomedical research, which are subject to a legal advisory request, an ordinary declaration, or an authorisation request depending on the specific case, and nature of the data controller.
Furthermore, processing implemented by natural or legal persons governed by public law, public authorities, organisations governed by private law entrusted with a mission of general interest or a concessionaire of public utility are also subject to the legal advisory request. With the exception to processing of private entities, may be subject to the authorisation request according to the assumptions developed by the article 11-1 of the law n° 1.165, amended.
Lastly, data transfers to a country that does not have an adequate level of protection are always subject to the authorisation request pursuant to articles 20 and 20-1 of the law n° 1.165, amended, and shall be instructed using the authorisation request form provided for such transfers.

To complete the file for the formal procedures, the following questions need to be answered:

Who is the data controller?

The person in charge of the processing or 'data controller' shall be considered as the natural or legal entity, governed by private law or public law, public authority, agency or any other body which alone or jointly with others determines the purposes of the data processing and means used and decides that it is to be implemented.

Who is the signing authority of the legal advisory request?

The signing authority is a natural or legal entity that is qualified and possesses the qualities to hire a natural person governed by the relevant public or private law.

What is the purpose of the processing?

The data controller determines the purpose of the data processing and the means used, and decides what will be done with the computerised file. The purpose must be predetermined, explicit and legitimate. Therefore, the data controller must establish the main purpose of the processing, that is, the principal reason for the file’s existence (for example, management of human resources, management of suppliers, management of contacts, and so on).

What are the practical purposes of the processing?

After the purposes have been determined, the data controller must list the different practical purposes of the processing. For example, for a file for managing human resources (staff management), the practical purposes may include: vacation management, career development, and so on.

Is the processing justified?

In application of the article 10-2 of the law, the processing of personal data must be justified:

  • by consent from the data subject(s), or;
  • by compliance with a legal obligation to which the data controller or their representative is subject, or;
  • by it being in the public interest, or
  • by a contract or pre-contractual measures with the data subject, or;
  • by the fulfilment of a legitimate motive on the part of the data controller or their representative or by the recipient, on condition that the interests or fundamental rights and freedoms of the data subject are not infringed.
This justification must be specified and detailed in the formal procedure.

Regarding the justification of specific processing

For the processing of sensitive and confidential data

Article 12 of the law forbids carrying out processing, whether automated or not, which reveals, directly or indirectly, political, religious or philosophical beliefs, trade union membership, racial or ethnic origin; or data in the field of health, including genetic data, data concerning the party's sex life, lifestyle or relating to social welfare measures.

This information can nevertheless be exploited by natural or legal persons governed by private law where:

  • The data subject has freely given their written and express consent, in particular under Act n° 1.265 of 23 December 2002 on the protection of persons in biomedical research, except where the Act provides that the ban described in the first paragraph may not be lifted by the consent of the data subject. The latter data subject may, at any time, withdraw his or her consent and request that the data controller or user of the processed data destroy or delete their data;
  • It is in the public interest, the processing described in Article 7, where processing has been decided by the competent authorities or bodies following a reasoned opinion issued by the Commission de Contrôle des Informations Nominatives (CCIN);
  • The processing pertains to the members of an ecclesiastical institution or a body with a political, religious, philosophical, humanitarian or trade-union aim, as part of company or association objects and for the purposes of its functioning, on condition that the processing relates solely to the members of the body or to persons who have regular contact with it in connection with its purposes and that the data is not disclosed to a third party without the consent of the data subjects;
  • The data processing relates to information that has manifestly been made public by the data subject;
  • The data processing is required for the purposes of preventive medicine, medical diagnosis, the provision of care or treatment or the management of healthcare services and social welfare schemes, or in the interests of research and where such data is processed by a health professional subject to the obligation of professional secrecy or by another person subject to an equivalent obligation of secrecy;
  • The data processing is required in order to record, exercise, or in the defence of rights before the Courts or to meet a legal obligation.
This justification must be specified and detailed in the formal procedure.

For data processing pertaining to the authorisation request procedure, the data controller must justify, pursuant to the article 11-1 subparagraph 2, that the processing is required to fulfil an essential and legitimate objective and that the rights and freedoms provided for by the Constitution are enshrined.

This justification must be specified and detailed in the formal procedure.

 

Who is the recipient of the processing?

To answer this question, it is necessary to identify the natural and legal persons who, as well as the entity that exploits the processing, receive the disclosed information contained in the processing.

These persons must be differentiated from the persons who have a direct access to the database.

Is the processing secured?

The security of data processing is a major requirement of the law. This security addresses all forms of data processing related to their creation, their utilisation, their protection, their archiving or their destruction; it also includes their confidentiality, their authenticity, and their availability.

Which is why, the declaration that must be addressed to the Commission must contain all supporting elements to enable the Commission to understand the security measures that have been taken by the data controller:

  • System architecture;
  • Data flow schema;
  • Physical security measures;
  • Logical security measures;
  • Copies of contracts with past subcontractors (and so on).
In order to assist the data controller with the description of his system’s operations as well as with the relevant security measures, an appendix on the security is provided. Complete the appendix and enclose it with the other supporting documents with the file.

Aide aux formalités

A quelles formalités suis-je soumis ?

De manière générale, les traitements soumis à l’article 11-1 de la Loi n° 1.165 (soupçons d’activités illicites, comportant des données biométriques ou mis en œuvre à des fins de surveillance) sont soumis à une demande d’autorisation de la Commission.
A défaut, les autres traitements sont soumis soit au régime de la déclaration simplifiée, soit de la déclaration ordinaire. 
Sont soumis à déclaration simplifiée, tous les traitements conformes à un Arrêté Ministériel de référence. Si le traitement excède le cadre fixé par Arrêté Ministériel ou qu’il n’existe pas d’Arrêté Ministériel, alors le traitement doit être soumis en la forme d’une déclaration ordinaire.
De manière plus spécifique, les traitements ayant pour fin une recherche dans le domaine de la santé sont soumis à la procédure d’avis de la Commission. Par exception, ceux  relevant du domaine de la recherche biomédicale au sens de la Loi n° 1.265 du 23 décembre 2002 relative à la protection des personnes dans la recherche biomédicale, sont soumis au régime de la demande d’avis, de la déclaration ordinaire ou de la demande d’autorisation, selon le cas, et suivant la nature du responsable de traitement.
Par ailleurs, les traitements mis en œuvre par des personnes morales de droit public, autorités publiques, organismes de droit privé investis d’une mission d’intérêt général ou concessionnaire d’un service public sont également soumis à la procédure de demande d’avis. Par exception, les traitements des entités relevant du secteur privé peuvent être soumis à demande d’autorisation dans les hypothèses posées à l’article 11-1 de la Loi n° 1.165, modifiée.  
Enfin, les transferts d’informations vers des pays ne disposant pas d’un niveau de protection adéquat sont toujours soumis à une demande d’autorisation, conformément aux articles 20 et 20-1 de la Loi n° 1.165, modifiée et doivent être instruits au moyen du formulaire de demande d’autorisation de transfert prévu à cet effet.

Pour remplir un dossier de formalité, il convient de répondre aux questions suivantes :

Qui est le responsable de traitement ?

Le responsable de traitement est la personne physique ou morale, de droit privé ou de droit public, l’autorité publique, le service ou tout organisme qui détermine, seul ou conjointement avec d’autres, la finalité et les moyens du traitement et décide de sa mise en œuvre.

Qui est le signataire de la demande d’avis ?

C’est la personne physique ayant compétence ou qualité pour engager la personne morale de droit public ou de droit privé concernée.

Définir la finalité du traitement ?

Le responsable de traitement définit la finalité du traitement qu’il doit mettre en œuvre en fonction de l’utilisation qu’il entend faire du fichier informatique. Celle-ci doit être déterminée, explicite et légitime. Pour cela, il doit établir l’objectif principal de son traitement, soit la raison d’être du fichier (ex : gestion du personnel, gestion des fournisseurs, fichier d’adresses (etc.).

Définir les fonctionnalités du traitement ?

Une fois la finalité déterminée, il devra décliner les différentes fonctions de son traitement. Par exemple pour un fichier « gestion du personnel », les fonctionnalités pourront être les suivantes : gestion des congés, gestion des carrières (…).

Le traitement est-il justifié ?

Conformément à l’article 10-2 de la loi, un traitement d’informations nominatives doit être justifié par :

  • le consentement de la ou des personnes concernées, ou ;
  • le respect d’une obligation légale à laquelle est soumis le responsable du traitement ou son représentant, ou ;
  • un motif d’intérêt public, ou ;
  • l’exécution d’un contrat ou de mesures précontractuelles avec la personne concernée, ou ;
  • la réalisation d’un intérêt légitime poursuivi par le responsable de traitement ou son représentant ou par le destinataire, à la condition de ne pas méconnaître l’intérêt ou les droits et libertés fondamentaux de la personne concernée.
Cette justification doit être précisée et développée dans le formulaire de formalité.

Concernant la justification de traitements particuliers

Pour les traitements comportant des données sensibles

  L’article 12 de la loi interdit la mise en œuvre de traitements faisant apparaître, directement ou indirectement, des opinions ou des appartenances politiques, raciales ou ethniques, religieuses, philosophiques ou syndicales, ou encore des données relatives à la santé, y compris des données génétiques, à la vie sexuelle, aux mœurs, aux mesures à caractère social.

Ces informations peuvent néanmoins être exploitées par les personnes physiques ou morales de droit privé :

  • lorsque la personne concernée a librement donné son consentement écrit et exprès, notamment dans le cadre de la loi n° 1.265 du 23 décembre 2002 relative à la protection des personnes dans la recherche biomédicale, sauf dans le cas ou la loi prévoit que l’interdiction visée au premier alinéa ne peut être levée par le consentement de la personne concernée. Cette dernière peut, à tout moment, revenir sur son consentement et solliciter du responsable ou de l’utilisateur du traitement la destruction ou l’effacement des informations la concernant ;
  • lorsqu’un motif d’intérêt public le justifie, pour les traitements visés à l’article 7 dont la mise en œuvre est décidée par les autorités ou organes compétents après avis motivé de la Commission de Contrôle des Informations Nominatives ;
  • lorsque le traitement concerne les membres d’une institution ecclésiale ou d’un groupement à caractère politique, religieux, philosophique, humanitaire ou syndical, dans le cadre de l’objet statutaire ou social de l’institution ou du groupement et pour les besoins de son fonctionnement, à condition que le traitement se rapporte aux seuls membres de cet organisme ou aux personnes entretenant avec lui des contacts réguliers liés à sa finalité et que les informations ne soient pas communiquées à des tiers sans le consentement des personnes concernées ;
  • lorsque le traitement porte sur des informations manifestement rendues publiques par la personne concernée ;
  • lorsque le traitement est nécessaire aux fins de la médecine préventive, des diagnostics médicaux, de l’administration de soins, de médications ou de la gestion des services de santé et de prévoyance sociale, ou dans l’intérêt de la recherche et que le traitement de ces données est effectué par un praticien de la santé soumis au secret professionnel ou par une autre personne également soumise à une obligation de secret ;
  • lorsque le traitement est nécessaire à la constatation, à l’exercice ou la défense d’un droit en justice ou répond à une obligation légale.
Cette justification doit être précisée et développée dans le formulaire de formalité.

Pour les traitements relevant du régime d’autorisation Le responsable de traitement doit justifier, conformément à l’article 11-1 alinéa 2 de la loi, que le traitement est nécessaire à la poursuite d’un objectif légitime essentiel et que les droits et libertés visés par la Constitution sont respectés.

Cette justification doit être développée dans le formulaire de formalité.

 

Qui est le destinataire du traitement ?

Pour répondre à cette question, il convient d’identifier les personnes physiques ou morales qui, en dehors de l’entité qui exploite le traitement, reçoivent communication d’informations contenues dans celui-ci.

Ces personnes doivent être distinguées des personnes ayant un accès direct à la base de données.

Le traitement est-il sécurisé ?

La sécurité des traitements est une exigence majeure de la loi. Cette sécurité se conçoit pour l’ensemble des processus relatifs aux données, qu’il s’agisse de leur création, leur utilisation, leur sauvegarde, leur archivage ou leur destruction, elle concerne également leur confidentialité, leur authenticité et leur disponibilité.

C’est pourquoi, le dossier de formalités, qui doit être adressé à la Commission, doit impérativement comporter tous les éléments permettant à celle-ci d’apprécier les mesures de sécurité prises par le responsable de traitement :

  • architecture du système ;
  • schéma de flux de données ;
  • mesures de sécurité physique ;
  • mesures de sécurité logique ;
  • copie des contrats passés avec les prestataires de services, (etc).
Afin d’accompagner le responsable de traitement dans cette démarche descriptive de fonctionnement de son système ainsi que des mesures de sécurité y afférentes, une annexe sécurité a été établie. Il convient de la remplir, d’y adjoindre des annexes et de les rattacher impérativement au dossier.